Pitch And Be Heard

I’m always getting asked about how I raised millions in capital, or how I enticed Tony Robbins to write the Foreword to my book. And of course, it always comes down to the “Pitch!”     

As a lifetime entrepreneur, I’ve given more pitches than I could probably count. I’ve pitched to investors, joint venture partners, and to those I’m offering my products or services to. And, let’s not forget the pitches to entities that could provide me with media exposure and other advancement opportunities for my business!      PitchAndBeHeard

As women, we may “pitch” differently than men do. We also tend to approach business differently than men do. That’s why I was intrigued by a recent Wall Street Journal study and subsequent article titled, “Women Executives Make Venture-Backed Companies More Successful.” Their findings stated, “Venture-backed companies that include females as senior executives are more likely to succeed than companies where only males are in charge.” Wow! What a power statement about the value that women bring to the bottom line of businesses.

This got me thinking about raising capital, making money, getting exposure, and how it all goes back to “Your Pitch.” Whether you are pitching a prospective client, joint venture partner, potential sponsor, or venture capital (VC)/angel investors, you must keep in mind a few very important things.

No matter what you are pitching, it is crucial that your pitch includes a story that is short and sweet. Be clear, concise, and don’t ramble. Paint your picture with the fewest and most impactful words as possible. This is especially true for us women who have a tendency to over-talk. Being concise and brief is especially important when pitching to men because their brains just want the facts without all of the fluff.

Do a walk-through from beginning to end with a flow that builds the understanding and intended response by the time you’re done. If you have talked in circles or left gaps of understanding, then you have killed your “pitch.”

In reality, there should be no gender differences in pitching your idea to anyone. Here is why… no matter what your gender, you must perform your due diligence and fully know your product and services, as well as answering the “why” for your audience. Only then can you effectively make persuasive arguments to cater to them and to overcome objections or obstacles.

Of course, it goes without saying that you will undoubtedly have the door slammed in your face a few times. When that happens, learn and adjust.

When I was pitching VC’s for funding for my medical company, it took nearly two years of learning and adjusting. But when I traveled the country pitching distributors to obtain contracts that fell outside of the traditional terms, I nailed all seven after each “pitch.” Why? I had learned to do my homework on them, and then crafted a pitch around meeting their why (why would they do “that” deal?). I arrived with a finely tuned presentation and was prepared in advance for the objections.

To read about Suzanne Duret, and her Top 5  tips, go here:   “This article is reprinted with permission by ShowcasingWomen.com, the Premier Resource For 30+ Million Women Entrepreneurs. Visit them for free instant access to their Success Tools.”

Suzanne has some excellent tips and articles for business woman to follow.

Please feel free to comment on the above  article or share with your friends. Love to hear comments!

Leave a Reply

